About Us

Our Identity and Funding

Rutherford County Library System (RCLS) is comprised of six branches and a Bookmobile, serving the Greater Rutherford County community. RCLS receives funding from three cities (Eagleville, Murfreesboro, and Smyrna) and Rutherford County, though governed by the Rutherford County Library Board.

Our Director

Rita Shacklett

Rita Shacklett is the Rutherford County Library System Director of Libraries and is appointed by the Rutherford County Library Board. 

You can contact her at 615-962-7424, ext 3904. Email

Administration and Technical Services are located at:

1127B Dow Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37130.

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Our Purpose

Empowering communities to explore, imagine and engage.

Quick Contacts

Linebaugh General Information Questions: linref@rclstn.org

Smyrna General Information Questions: sjones@rclstn.org

Genealogy/Historical Research: hrc@rclstn.org

Problems with the RCLS website: webmaster@rclstn.org

Technical Support: krobertson@rclstn.org

For questions about your account (fines, renewals, etc) please call your local branch or log into your Online Account

Our News